Assistance with understanding a point of the Legal FAQ

So, I’ve tried to reach out to Blizzard through several official channels for quite some time, and I’ve either gotten no response, or folks who were unable to help due to this not being in their area.

I’m hoping someone who knows copyright law well can assist, or a member of Blizzard staff; respectfully, I request that folks don’t just provide personal opinions.

The Blizzard Legal FAQ states that novels, screenplays, theatrical productions and other adaptions aren’t permitted. These terms seem to indicate officially published/made-for-money projects. What I’d like to do is make a non-profit writing blog, made just for fun to write with others from the POV of a Blizzard character. Credit and disclaimers would be provided to disassociate it with any official content.

Can anyone assist me in clarifying whether or not this would be permitted?
Thank you, and Merry Christmas.

I’m an attorney in several states in the US, so I can only tell you about US copyright laws. I usually work in the technology arena but I’m also a volunteer attorney with the EFF (who also assists with users such as yourself who may find themselves attacked for doing just such a thing and need a hand with protection or fighting back - worth a look up). I can’t speak to the laws of other countries, so let me leave that caveat.