When should I do my placements?

Hey Guys,

Just looking for a little bit of advice if its not too much bother.

Been playing overwatch for just over a week, managed to climb to level 30 and have been playing tanks.

Have a total of 20 hours played, about 4 of which are on Rein.

I’m starting to get a feel of the game, and would like to try some comp gamess to see what SR I manage to get, and also because Quick Play seems a bit all over the place and unorganised at the best of times.

However, I’m not sure if I should get some more game time in before doing my placement matches. Don’t have anyone I play with regularly yet, and am just trying to get better by watching tip videos and browsing the forums.

Any advice you guys can give me is appreciated, as I’m fairly new to the game I’ll take any help I can get.

Thanks in advance,
Q

It doesn’t matter when you do your placements - competitive is infested with trolls and throwers (and, seeming as they’ve been around for over a year now, it looks like this is never going to change). Go in with the mindset that all of your matches are going to be ruined by these individuals. Lower your expectations - Overwatch is a total mess, and whether you win or lose is purely down to chance. Note that winning or losing doesn’t matter in qualifying matches - your personal performance for the ten games is what determines your initial skill ranking.

2 Likes

Put more hours in the game. There is a lot of variety so it’s ez for someone to get the edge over a noob. How many hours u should put in tho depends on ur skill. If ur aim is not where u want it to be work on that first cause once the game thinks ur a certain rank the clim is hard af