Survival, and why Blizzard wants us to melee

Hi,

I have been playing since 2007. My first character was a hunter. It’s my preferred main since I’ve started playing and I felt very connected with what the class represented at it’s core.
The core hunter experience I was sold was a ranged spec with different flavors. You know, like mages or warlocks but a physical damage dealer. It’s a ranged spec. Stuff like Winged Clip work as Frost Nova. They’re ocasional melee tools. Not the building blocks of a full spec.

For reference I raid on a not very hard core guild but we still feel obliged to push our classes to the best so we do steady progress.

Why was it so important to mutate one of the specs into melee? Why am I now being “forced” into melee because Blizz made it become the highest DPS for AoE and sustained cleave? What’s with hunters that we can have a spec butchered to slot in a melee spec and mages and locks can’t be bothered as well? Giving rogues a ranged spec makes sense? Does Blizz want to reduce the hunter population by creating a divide between hunter players (no doubt people that play surv will feel cheated if Blizz removes the spec, the irony)?
Couple that with the actual unfathomable fragility of the spec and people might wonder where Blizz’s heart for hunters is.

Does anybody else here feels cheated by Blizzard?

/rant off

9 Likes

Far from it. I personally love having the option of melee, feels primal to go into combat with a mighty Kodo by my side and spear in my hand.
Plus with harpoon it’s like being batman going into combat

7 Likes

Have you tried Outlaw Rogue? You know, a melee that can swing into battle like Batman? You even have a legendary quest (can’t remember the expansion) that gives you gear that procs a bat wings animation. Like Batman!!!

You would appreciate Rogue a lot. Go try it. It’s a melee class. Quite as it was sold in the beggining.

2 Likes