What Blizzard can learn from Classic and Retail wow

I first experienced wow back in 2007 during TBC days. A friend of mine introduced me and I made my first character, a blood elf rogue because I was restricted to Horde due to him and his guild. Nelf was always my fav. The experience was really fun, I remember the world feeling very much alive and dangerous, making friends as I leveled, the social aspect felt very natural, you would always just encounter people during quests and travelling across the landscape.

Over the years I’ve thought heavily on this topic, not just on wow but on mmo’s in general and the decline of them over the years. I’ve always had a big passion for game design, I have a degree in it and I currently work as a Concept Artist, so hopefully my opinion has a little bit of knowledge backed behind it.

I’ve come back to wow many times over the years on and off but due to the direction of the game I always got bored after a couple of weeks and left for other things. Now thats not to say that retail wow doesn’t have strengths, it certainly does and I think these strengths AND weaknesses become so much more obvious with the release of classic wow.