Amplify Damage vs Decrepify

I am really not sure what I should use to help my skeletons kill enemies faster.

Amplify damage is great, but it doesn’t help my Magi.
Decrepify amplifies damage too. Does it help my Magi? Mouseover doesn’t give much details. Not even how much the damage against the target is boosted. The slow is nice and helpful too sometimes, but 4 seconds duration vs 14 seconds duration is a big difference and soaks up mana quickly.

Any experienced minion masters who can help me decide and possibly give detailed reasons for why something is better than the other?

I’m mostly playing my Necro solo, so no need to take big groups of players into account.

Decrepify also slows monsters good for act boss

1 Like

I am no expert, but I am building a Summoner Necro myself right now. Since I’m not high enough level to get Decrepify yet, I have not had to make the choice so I am using Amp Damage.

However I have done quite a bit of research into the build (watched and read several different “experts”) and can offer the following advice second hand…

a) Decrepify is the best choice if you are playing solo.

b) Skeleton Mages should be avoided. They get in the way more than anything and do not deal enough damage to justify spending any points in them.

c) The builds tend to agree on more or less the following skill point allocation: 20 points into Raise Skelly, Skelly Mastery, Golem of choice, and Corpse Explosion. Then roughly 5 to 10 points in Golem Mastery and Revive. All other points go into 1-point wonders including curse(s) of choice.

Amplify damage for trash mobs and decrepify for bosses.

I think decrepify is 50% dmg boost while amplify has 100%

1 Like

Thanks for all the replies so far. I think I will use both anyways, but I’d love it if you all add your reasoning to your replies so I can get a better understanding of the game and not just follow instructions.