Need help understanding what I'm doing wrong

Not gonna hide my lack of skill or the fact I’m a noob, but I’m tryin to understand exactely what I’m doing wrong.

Using The Icy Veins Masquerade Bone Spear build.

My gear is not perfect but all the necessary pieces are in place. Just need better rolls/stats.
The way I understood it the flow of gameplay is:

1. Keep Bone Shield up and make good use of its stun effect to save you from tight situations.
  2. Use Curse on a group of enemies
  3. Use Grim Scythe to recover Essence (and keep the stacking att speed and movement speed bonuses active). Make sure Essence is never capped.
  4. Use Bone Spear a few times until stuff is dead
  5. Warp to the next group of enemies, rinse & repeat

There’s a lot more of real time decisions to be made but of course I tried to simplify things.
Now my damage is decent, even on GR 100 those Bone spears are good.
I have two other problems:

• What do I do when I’m fighting an elite or a boss from distance to stay alive (and deal more damage) and I run out of essence?
  • I die way too easy. Often I get, like, oneshot. I have 50% damage reduction from Simulacrum, which also furtherly splits incoming damage in 3 parts (66% reduction?), then 30% reduction from stacks of Bone Shield, 48% damage reduction from Daynte’s bindings, 50% from Razeth’s volition. I’m not sure how all these numbers add up in the real damage taken calculation formula, but it seems like it’s a lot of damage mitigation! If that’s not enough then what? How can all those players I meet just stand around in GR 110 and higher rifts without ever being at risk of dying whereas I can die in a nanosecond?

Thanks for your time!