Few thoughts on how card draw is sequenced

…and not randomized. I’ve been playing the game for a couple of years now, have hundreds of games with each of my decks, more than 10k matches in total. And never until this patch have i been as struck by the rate at which “curious” things tend to happen depending on the matchup. Let’s take a standard cyclone mage deck for example:

• (negative) drawing sea giant versus control warrior before mulliganing
  • (positive) sea giant is drawn in the first 4 turns vs. druid
  • drawing 2 x arcane intellect before 4th turn while having the coin
  • not drawing any arcane intellect, or other draw mechanism before 4th turn when coin is missing
  • mulliganing the exact same cards (mostly 1 out of 2, rarely 2 out of 2), or drawing the shuffled cards in the first 2 turns after mulligan
  • percentage of matches where 4th turn finds you with 3 doubled cards in your hand

On the other side of the table, opponent playing a deck with two hard removals (such as hunter), usually draws both from the top half of the deck. Warrior finds both brawls at a similar rate than hunter, maybe a bit slower. High impact cards which heavily influence the win rate of the decks they’re played in, such as Paladin’s Kangor’s Endless Army, or Hunter’s Zul’Jin are usually drawn well before the late game.

The most visible issue i see with the card draw involves drawing doubles (moderate and high cost ones) in the very early stages of matches. I see the same decks being played in tournaments and these situations are not as frequent, also because mulliganning appears to work better. This leads me to believe there are separate card draw algorithms on ladder vs tournaments. And as far as the ladder is concerned the card draw is tweaked in order to control win rates for every class.