What I've learned from Legend

Alright everyone, so I’ve been playing Hearthstone for a couple of years now and I reached Legend for the first time about a year ago. Since then I have been keeping it casual most of the time, but have nevertheless reached Legend 5 more times in Standard and 3 times in Wild. I know that is not as much as the pros, but I feel my observations might still be useful to some of you, so here goes!

1. Players misplay more often than they think.
Many misplays are not very obvious, especially in higher ranks. Just because you’ve played on curve and have not made big mistakes, doesn’t mean you have played correctly. Most often the mistake is subtle: like picking the wrong card from a choice of 3, curving out with the wrong cards, placing 1 more minion than necessary on the board etc. The key to fixing this is not only watching pros play, but watching your own replays (with Deck Tracker for example). When viewing some of my own replays, I often notice misplays, which I did not see during the game, even though I won.

2. You do not need a Tier 1 deck to hit Legend.
Most of the times I got Legend, I did it with Tier 2 decks just because I did not enjoy playing the Tier 1 decks or did not have the cards for them. Some people even get it with Tier 4 decks.

3. Buying packs will also not get you Legend.
Of course it helps to have a Tier 1 deck, but don’t be surprised if you craft it and still can’t get Legend. Buying packs to craft a netdeck is fine in my opinion, but keep in mind that piloting the deck to Legend is not guaranteed.

4. Reaching Legend (from R5) does not take a long time.
Getting Legend takes me 8 to 16 hours, with an average game length of 6 minutes (current season). If you’re playing a slower deck and are unlucky, it can take a bit longer. If it takes too long, then you are most likely not ready.

5. Tilt exists, but it is not always to blame.