South Africa players connecting to servers with Middle Eastern players

So I started playing OW1 and as a South African player I would sit at around 180ms which isn’t great but it was fine, the OW team did a great job with the netcode.

I met some cool people playing on the EU servers and then suddenly one day I was connecting to servers that didn’t have any native english speakers and where everyone was pretty much speaking some kind of middle eastern language, barely anyone would speak english. This was consistent in almost every single game on competitive and so I looked into it, and yep other people from my region were also having the same issue. This issue has been ignored by Blizzard for years now.

So not only do we get no server on our entire continent we are also playing with people that speak very different languages. High latency + poor communication in my games has killed a lot of the joy for me.

I have tried logging tickets and I get told to just post on the forums, so here I am posting on the forums. I wasn’t even told why this is happening.

I really do not want to use a VPN or anything of the sort, this is really something that should not happen in a game like this. I have played plenty of other competitive games and never had issues like this.

So here is me hoping someone from Blizzard sees this or perhaps this gets enough attention so something can be done. Local servers would be great but I can see how competitive rankings would be a problem with a smaller pool of players, but being connected to middle eastern players doesn’t seem right.

Hope someone at Blizz can help

6 Likes

+1 to support this. South Africa has the infrastructure available to host servers in the cloud. The very same infrastructure that OW2 utilizes right now.