Stuck in Bronze as Tank, Support, and DPS

okay
I know a lot of people come on here to complain about the current state of Overwatch but there is seriously something wrong here.
I have been playing Overwatch since 2018. For that entire time, except season 12 where I first started, I was silver, I have been stuck in bronze.
I have noticed I have gotten better at the game and can now am really good on a range of heroes like Ashe, Soldier:76, Mercy and DVA. However, I am still bronze.
Especially around the event times, the number of smurfs and throwers pretty much double so I get extremely lucky if there isn’t at least one in my game.
I am getting silver and gold elims and hero damage as DPS but am currently ranked below 500 SR.
Tank and Support are a little better but are both below 1000SR. I have looked at YouTube videos, coaching videos, got a few tips from OWL players on Twitch but nothing seems to be working.

There are also people who refuse to switch to a more viable hero (e.g: Hammond switching to rein) and then blame the DPS for losing and calling me toxic for suggesting a switch.

Any serious ideas for me, and I don’t mean the suggestion of “Git Gud”. That isn’t helpful in any case.

1 Like

For that entire time, except season 12 where I first started, I was silver, I have been stuck in bronze.

Rank doesn’t really reflect skill all that well, however I doubt it’s significantly out of alignment (more than a rank or two).

I have noticed I have gotten better at the game

What makes you think that? What criteria are you judging your skill on?

I am getting silver and gold elims and hero damage as DPS but am currently ranked below 500 SR.

I get gold elims as a support quite frequently, that’s no guarantee that you’re some god of the game, you’re just better than everyone on your team in that one particular way.

I have looked at YouTube videos, coaching videos, got a few tips from OWL players on Twitch but nothing seems to be working.