WHY is OW2 going 5v5/one tank

Can someone explain to me what the new setup of only 1 tank, and a total of 5 on the teams is going to make better/fix? We see the 5 setup in many other games, and it’s not really working either, so what are they actually trying to fix here?

I do not play competative, and I am fairly new to this game(I started playing roughly half a year ago). I only do Quickplay and Arcade(usually Mystery Heroes), so excuse my lack of ability to see the whole picture here.

I am sure this has been discussed within Blizzard and in the community a million times over(I caught on to this because I have been reading around and seen some Blizzard interviews). However, I REALLY do not get why they are going away from the 2-2-2 setup?

Yes, people don’t wanna play tank. I didn’t wanna play tank for a very long time because I was terrified of the name of the role. I saw this huuuuge responsibility planted in my face that I didn’t want. Then I started playing Mystery Heroes, and that way got forced to get familiar with the “tank” characters. That’s when I realized that they really didn’t feel that much different than dps(or support for that matter), and there being TWO on the quickplay teams made me feel less damaging to the team if I messed up, so after some rounds on Arcade I started queueing as flex on Quickplay. I have days where I play like a sack of potatoes, and other times where I feel I can pull my weight and more, but knowing there are TWO characters on the team that are labeled as “tanks” has a whole lot to do with the role feeling less intimidating and exhausting. I also feel like it gives more room for the entire team to make alternative strategies on the go if things feel staggered.