Are Trolls ''civilised''?

I’m not a major professional roleplayer, I partake casually, but I am serious about lore and how I want my character to fit into the World of Warcraft.

I generally lean towards more ‘‘civilised’’ races, Blood Elves, Humans, Dwarves etc, even Orcs, but I am struggling to connect with my troll.

I just can’t imagine a troll shaman roaming the Eastern Kingdoms, or out appreciating art and treasure or places of beauty. The Zandalari are civilised sure, but I play your standard troll.

Can I get tips or insight into how I could make my troll fit into what I like about the World of Warcraft, and how a jungle troll finds himself appreciating the wonders of Silvermoon and the architectural prowess of Strormwind whilst being connected his own people and the history of his race.

Thank you

Simple. Just have a character that does so.

Break the mould, but also respect the borders. They shouldn’t restrict you or your characters creative drive and more so provide a guideline of what to expect, suggest what to do and how to go about it. But also a base identity to make something out of.

Yes, Trolls are tribalistic, but what’s stopping an intrepid individual from exploring other cultures and finding beauty in them? Sure, you can say ‘x race has no reason to because x race and z race were in conflict 103913 years ago’ but that shouldn’t stop individual thinking. Especially those who can look past them.

You see this demonstrated even now through certain NPC’s that portray different personalities that is outright a disparity from the norm.

3 Likes

Define “civilised” first
Whats that means to you
The Troll tribes usually very tribalistic, some of them cannibalistic, sure, but there are Temple Cities all over Azeroth;remnants of their empires. Gurubashi, Amani and the Drakkari are the most famous, but the Farraki had their own too, with the sprawling temple city of Zul’Farrak in the desert of Tanaris