Assas rogue pvp question

So, I started playing/learning rogue first time ever in S3. I am plagued by overthinking during matches. For example, if I am close to a second (tea/dance/trinket/deathmark/kingsbane/etc) burst window and, let’s say, a healer (off target) is keeping distance, should I run to a healer (off target) and try to CC or just unleash everything on a kill target and hope to kill due to dampening? Is the general nature of assas rogue to close matches with a perfect CC or the pressure they make ends matches?
In the above scenario, I, of course, included the possibility of my teammate doing CC for that particular go.
Thanks!

“Killing through healing due to dampening” as you put it depends both on how high dampening is and what healer you’re facing.

If your teammate can CC while you hurst someone down, perfect. If he can’t, or can’t alone, then you help because since you have Dance you don’t actually need Kidney for whoever you want to kill, so you can use it for CC.