BFA (Atal'Dazar) Dungeons & New Players

Hello!

I’m pretty new to WoW but I’m curious. Myself (Hunter) and my wife (Rogue) play now and we’ve just hit level 40. The first dungeon that really unlocked for us since we were doing the quests in Zuldazar were the Atal’Dazar Dungeon. We had a quest for it and we decided to run it.

We killed Rezan but had trouble with Vol’kaal due to not understanding the mechanics fully there. (Rezan was fine and easier to understand but I don’t know if it was the tanks fault but we were getting destroyed by Toxin. Avoiding the toxin is okay but do you also have to move around too even if it’s not near you?) We tried again and killed Rezan but then they attempted to votekick out my wife I’m guessing due to being a new player and she accidently got feared a couple times into the summons on the ground. It honestly wasn’t a big deal but she’s been a bit down and doesn’t understand what she fully did wrong/wants to avoid dungeons now. I get it, it’s not a good feeling either. (Is there something rogues should be doing to Rezan or others in this dungeon in general?)

Anyways couple questions:

So my question about BFA Dungeons: Do they actually scale properly even though you’re low level? I feel like gear might play a part into it being more difficult, also maybe not having all the skills unlocked.

I ask this mainly for the gear because we did that WoW anniversary PVP fight (40v40 I think) and we do almost no damage to people there. This was at level 30 or so. We seem to get one hit quite alot by like 15k damage blasts when we only have like 6k HP when its scaled to level 60. Is the same issue present for BFA dungeons too? (For example Rezan has a skill that can one hit you - devour, but I wonder if its actually a one hit at higher levels).