Boon of the Ascended into Vform(DF ideas)

Not sure how other priests feel about the spell, but personally I’ve been playing a lot of Boon Spriest in SL. The spell feels largely like a better version of Vform, since both have a cast time, both make you hover/slide around above the ground, and both chunks out their own bolt(Ascended Blast and Void Bolt). Since the devs are acknowledging that our cds lack identity in DF, could it possibly be an idea to salvage what boon does, and incorporate it into Vform? As in up the dmg on Vbolt a bit, and have it replace Mind Flay for the duration(like Ascended Blast currently does), and have Eruption instead of bolt, become a shadow version of Ascended Nova, with a finish explosion based on number of casts when done. :thinking:

I’m not a game designer and don’t know if something is too strong behind the scenes, but since we lost Surrender and Hungering Void, and Ancient Madness was made available for DA as well, this would also separate the two cooldowns identity. Vform(that by the way still only increases our dmg by 10% since it still replaces Sform) would then be fairly bursty, where DA that gives a much larger 25% dmg increase(and doesn’t replace Sform) retains a better sustained dmg profile… or something. :sweat_smile:

Just wanted to share my thoughts, feel free to voice yours. :kissing_heart:

1 Like

Easy aoe? Sounds unreal.

I don’t like the mashing, but, keep in mind DF allows you to just hold the key to keep casting, so maybe. To me it felt odd to replace a channeled St spell with a mash aoe, however I am 100% in favour of VF replacing spells, and 100% on getting more than the 1 aoe hit out during the void phase.

Boon feels a bit like a Holy counterpart to VF.

VF increases damage by 3x mastery too, although, with good gear you can keep a substantial uptime on 3 dots outside it. DA doesn’t scale with mastery …?

1 Like