Cloth class for PvP...?

I’m completely lost and need guidance from a few pro PvPers…

I’m pretty new to casters and am almost done leveling my last cloth class (Mage), but I am VERY split about which caster is best suited for me going forward. Hopefully people in here can help me out :slight_smile:

I’m not interested “what the current meta is” because I want this class to be a “permanent main” going forward. I assume there is a “general idea” about which class usually perform well at most times? :slight_smile:

The primary way I pick my classes is in whether they perform well in Arena and 1v1 duels (WPvP). Especially in WPvP.

Here is what I have gathered so far, and just know that I may be off about how I think they are… I’m here for advice after all hehe.

Shadow Priest
Probably my favorite fantasy of the 3. Feels VERY complicated to play in PvP and doesn’t feel like it was designed for PvP.

I hear people say it is “meta” in SL, but having tried it on PTR it still feels much like BFAs Priest, except for Void Eruption being a 2min CD instead of “gotta charge it up first” spell. Oh and there is an extra “dmg/heal” spell that seems good for self healing…

I get the feeling that people who main Shadow in PvP, are GODLIKE in their skills, which is the only reason they can make it work in that environment… Am I wrong or have I just not understood how to play Shadow in PvP hehe? :sweat_smile:

It feels to me that Mage and Lock are just more suited towards PvP. I get the feeling that Disc is “the PvP spec” for Priest, and Shadow is a “in case you wanna DPS in PvE content” type spec.

Mage
I have yet to try a 1v1 duel on Mage, but so far it feels as if it would do well. LOT’S of roots and slows that are available nearly at all times because of short CDs, which means that no matter how long the fight is, a Mage can continuously keep going.