Does the Light abandon a Paladin if he refuses to use it for along period of time?

Hello everyone. I am still rather new to the RP aspect of WoW. As a class, the Paladin is a whole lot of fun to me and I would like to use my potential RP character for non RP activities as well.
My question regarding the Light is the following: if a paladin doesn’t use the Light for a prolonged period of time, either because he needs to be incognito, or he refuses to do so because of personal reasons, would the Light abandon the Paladin eventually?
And would this be different depending on which order? Aka a paladin of the Silver Hand would be effected differently than a Blood Knight.

I might not be a paladin lore expert, but I doubt this is a thing. One could lose their faith in the Light and therefore struggle to channel it, but… I do not think simply not casting the magic for a little while could do it to anyone.

I am no paladin expert aswell but to my understanding (and after asking around) the light does not abandon just because you dont use it for a long periods of time, or even at all. The light chooses who can channel it, it does not mean they HAVE to.

The Light is it’s own entity almost, you won’t lose it unless it leaves you which is not your choice anyway.

1 Like

I am a Paladin expert.

No, as long as you maintain your personal faith and belief, the Light does not leave you. It’s also not an autonomous entity, and does not come and go as it wills, it’s more of a force that passively exerts it’s ideals, acting through champions.

However, the blessings a paladin receives when anointed can fade, and may need renewal.

8 Likes

Thanks to everyone that took the time to give their input, all of your answers have been helpful.

From what I understand the Light is accessible either through faith OR force of will, so long as the paladin has a strong will or feels that his own actions are just, the light will answer, from what I understand, both are not needed, either is fine