Ele AoE PvE Rotation feels... weird?

Hi everyone,

I will begin by saying that I am new to Ele. I decided to get my KSM with my Ele this season.

I went through the builds and what not I’ve seen online and did some recent reading.

For this week (fortified) I am running the build where we have Magma Totem, Splintered Elements, Surge of Power and Icefury and Skybreaker.

Here’s my issue; after casting Earthshock OR Earthquake, you ideally wanna cast Lava Burst or Lightning Bolt/Chain Lightning to benefit from the Surge of Power. But when it comes to AoE, casting Earthquake + Lava Burst (or chain lightning) while hitting Frost Shock in case you are empty for both damage and mael generation, feels weird.

1. The damage doesn’t seem good,
  2. Casting Earthquake then casting Frost Shock wastes the Surge of Power,
  3. I don’t find the CDR effect on the Fire Elemental that useful; its damage doesn’t seem high enough to have almost an entire build around it,
  4. Asc. proc seems very random, sometimes it procs back to back and sometimes it just doesn’t,
  5. Due to strength of Asc. proc, i sometimes find myself just quickly spending Mael via Earth Shock so I can just bust more Lava Surge procs,
  6. Lack of haste and/or mastery seems to impact the spec significantly, which I don’t like,

I don’t know, obviously its a new spec that I haven’t played much in PvE but the rotation feels really weird to me. I almost decided to just switch to Aftershock and put Icefury related points into Call of Thunder and Power of the Maelstrom. At least my AoE rotation would feel a bit better.

P.S: Its very possible that I am simply in a full confusion about my AoE rotation. If such is the case, let me know and please advice on the proper AoE rotation.

1 Like

At and above 5 targets you do not use icefury.

Just chain and earthquake etc.