Gearsets still needed?

After a long break (quit after Cataclysm), one of the things I have noticed when I started playing again is that the stats on my gear change depending on the talent specialization that I choose.

For instance, on my druid when playing Feral ‘Agility’ is enabled, but when I change to Balance ‘Agility’ is replaced by ‘Intellect’ on the same gear piece. This seems to work for all of my gear, apart from my weapon.

Does this mean that having different gearsets when playing different specs is no longer needed on one character, apart from the weapon?

Please note, I am kind of looking for an answer that would fit the vast majority of the players on WoW. As in, I want to be competitive but my goal is not to be in the top 5% or something.

Hey there Anatman, great question for sure.

Weapons and trinkets would be the main 2 you would end up changing on your character for different specs. That being said, your secondary stats (Haste/Crit/Vers/Mastery) might still cause you to want different items in other slots.

So yeah, equipment sets can still be a thing. :slight_smile:

1 Like

Exactly. You will probably swap weapon and trinkets between specs. Probably, but not always, depending on the spec. Some weapons and trinkets may not have both Strength and Intellect, or Agility and Intellect, but some of them will.

The rest of your armour you can mostly keep between specs, but ofc if one of your specs wants a lot of Haste while another wants a lot of Mastery, you may decide to keep two pieces and swap between to be competitive.

You need not bother with this before max level though. The difference secondary stats like Haste and Mast make before max level will not be enough to bother with.

So having different gearsets is, in general, no longer needed in most cases (though different weapons and tinkets might be needed in some cases) but the more you care about optimisation, the more you will keep for secondary stats.

Icy Veins