Have we forgotten how to enjoy playing this game?

Hello everyone,

First of all, short background. I have been playing this game since 2006, more or less all the time, with only a few breaks. I have gone through many variations - from hardcore raiding 6 days per week, over being LFR hero and only casually questing, to Mythic raider who raids twice per week. I have been both filthy casual and hardcore. I have been both min-maxing as well as being clicker. I have done pet battles, farmed transmogs, proffesions.

I went from completelly “don’t care for mounts and will always use Amani Warbear” to mount collector.

Along this whole journey, it occured to me whether I have truly lost the ability to enjoy playing this game. Sure, when you play essentially the same game for ~15 years, neural paths in your brain are hard to please - it is very hard to invoke the feeling of surprise or even achievement - we have seen it all.

I don’t want to rush quests, I should be able to enjoy every single moment of doing it - from looking that underground cave, to completing the objective itself.

Enjoy the conversations, music.

Over the time, which I think is normal, the ability to truly enjoy wow has diminished, but I still very much love it. Starting from Legion, I always read every quest in detail, I try to observe the scenery around me, appreciate the music… And so far, it’s working ok.

How do you battle the inveitable diminishing return of enjoying wow, if you have been playing it for so many years? Or you are just instant gratification go go go tyep of player who seeks pleasure in fast activities wow also provides.

Reagrds,
Imm

3 Likes