How do you define “casuals”

So i’ve seen the term “casuals” get thrown around a lot, sometimes it’s used in a negative way.

But what is a casual actually?
I don’t have a guild, i don’t raid, i mostly just pug 1-10 keys in m+. I started playing wow season 3 of BFA.
Yet i play this game a lot, like everyday and for quite some hours.

I would define myself as a casual player, yet most define a casual player as someone who plays the game for like 1-3 hours and that’s it.

What do you define as a casual player?

Maybe i’m just a noob and not a casual :grin:

To me casual is a play style and not based on time playing.
If youre casual you’ll do maybe lfr or something but most time spent will be doing old content or world quests.

If it was based on time spent, theoretically you could have mythic raiders defined as casual if they only logged on to raid a few hours a week and that just doesn’t sound right

3 Likes

No form of organised schedule for group content.

And no intent or desire for endgame gear or activities.

By my definition :smile:

5 Likes

I think is just a definition that will change from player to player.

Like i did not want to commit to a guild during this exp and so when i was not frozen, i just got Curve and did M+ for fun.

So i would say i played this expansion really “casually” from a progress standpoint but i did play a lot and did ton of side things that i wanted to do.

That’s how i would define a casual as well, a play style.

I guess you can have very skilled players who only log in for a few hours a day. Yet they raid or do m+ at a high level, they just spend their time more effecient. Yet i wouldn’t define them as casuals.

2 Likes

i don’t, i don’t pigeonhole people, even serious players can be casual…