How hard to play an Elemental Shaman?

Hello dear element binders,

I started to play an Devastation Evoker for this expansion, and sadly due to number of problems that evoker have, I have decided to reroll and play a mage. After learning the rotation and class better, I have found it to be very complicated and It was not my cup of tea.

Now I am considering playing a Shaman, especially an Elemental Shaman. My friends are insisting that shaman’s rotation is harder than arcane mage but I don’t think that’s the case.

So what is your thoughts on this? How hard to play a shaman? Btw, I am a veteran player who played melee dps before. I am not a good caster atm.

Thanks for any insights.

Cheers!

havent played a shaman recently but it had a big issue button bloat, it had a insane number of buttons … I really dont see that changing, i gues if ur not into super try hard u can go into more passive’s but still

1 Like

Pretty easy to play the fire build for m+

Even easier to play the fire build in ST

Speaking from a mid level ele doing 13-15 m+ it’s rewarding fishing for ascendance procs specially while you have storekeeper already loaded on pull

IMO go something else tho, my choice was shaman or mage and sometimes I wish I chose the latter

1 Like

Pros:

• potential for huge damage if spreading flame shock correctly and utilising storm keeper.
  • procs are very satisfying and you rarely need to cast if running lava build.
  • good toolkit for team mates (hex, roots, slows).
  • I personally enjoy the play style and it can be quite challenging but rewarding.

Negatives:

• you need to learn to handle being the main target for every PvP team.
  • mobility is decent in DF but you won’t outrun a warrior, rogue, feral, monk or DH for long.
  • defensives are some of the worst in the game so positioning and managing cds is vital.
  • you need a good healer who knows how to play with an ele.