I am new to PvP pet battles but what the hell is this

So i am trying to do my achievements for PvP and every single opponent has anomalous - blightbreath. And that’s all they need to defeat me. It doesn’t matter what i do. Sometimes he even skips his turns, like he is afk. And he still beats my easily. Is there something i am missing here? What’s going on ?

Welcome to PvP :stuck_out_tongue:

That’s how it is. That’s what PvP is.

Today, it’s Anomalus. In previous times, it has been Graves, Bone Serpent, Teroclaw Hatchling, Wicked Soul, others.

Everybody doing PvP can always choose any comnination of pets. So naturally most people choose whatever is both most powerful and easy to use. At the moment, that’s Anomalus, plus probably another couple of AoE pets. This pattern, using the easy and powerful pets, is called “the meta”. Today, Anomalus AoE is “the meta”.

AoE always tops the ratings for “Easy to use”. You don’t have to think or calculate, or decide anything, really, to use AoE.

Blightbreath is maybe not the ideal pet to go along with Anomalus, though.

What is likely is that you are bumping into the same player again and again.

There are very few people who play PvP willingly. Most of the people you find are just feeling obliged to rack up some numbers for achievements. So, at any given moment, there’s a pretty good chance that there are fewer than 4 people in your pet battlegroup in Europe in the queue. Often there are only 2, and they get to face each other again and again and again.

The character you see facing you is not a representation of your opponent. To keep people anonymous, the game creates a representation of a random NPC to show you, so there is no way to track each other. So even if you match the same player multiple times, you will appear to see a different character each time.

You were the only two playing, you kept meeting the same guy, he was running Anomalus/Blightbreath, and you didn’t have a team that coud counter it.