I have no ill will against the writers as persons doing them job but

Problem with WoW writing has long been (ever since Danuser took the lead) that the story doesn’t seem to understand its own strengths at all. It doesn’t understand what made Warcraft so appealing to young people, young adults and adults in the first place.

Story and characters lack any interesting qualities that made original ones so epic, cool and EDGY. Yes, edgy. I was 14y old when i started playing vanilla and i loved how dark, metal and edgy in good way it was. Young people don’t want disney villains, disney kumbaya talking about feelings stuff we have now. It’s not even insultingly awful anymore as it was in Shadowlands, its even worse because it’s so, godamn, boring.

I’m sure Metzen will work on the foundation of world lore and stuff like that, but the writers we have and have had have shown multiple times they are incapable of creating the stuff we as fans want. Again, i have no ill will against them as persons, but isn’t this enough already? I don’t feel they understand warcraft or even try to understand it, but try to make it about them and how they feel and think and represent. I feel like they don’t write this stuff for us and they even don’t want to.

Warcraft never was complicated, deep or intelligent story, but it was darker, grittier and so epic it didn’t need to. We want sweaty muscular men beating each other to the death, blood and boobs. It’s not that hard seriously.

Thanks for reading if you made it to the end. Love to the systems team and other deparments in the development! You guys have really improved a lot and everything except the story feels really good now.

6 Likes

The credits for Warcraft III The Frozen Throne was a metal concert with Arthas:

The game reflected the people who worked on it.

Warcraft today feels like it’s shifting toward a vibe that’s a bit…different.