Mage noob with DR questions

Hey, very newbie question, trying to make sense of DRs

I understand that every CC of the same category will cause a ‘DR’ buff to the target, 50% stun, 25% stun etc

But mages make use of several spells that all appear to ‘incap’. DB, Poly, Ring of Front?

Do these spells share the same DR or no? What about the Panda racial, does it share DR? If I use Panda racial followed by Poly, will the sheep be 50%?

Dragon Breath is Disorient.
Poly, Ring and Panda Racial are all Incap. This means they will all share same DR.
Fear and blind is the same category is Dragon Breath so pay attention to it

2 Likes

Interesting, thank you.
So why do mages typically follow Poly with a Ring? Is it just that Ring’s default duration is so long, that the half Ring is still very strong?

1 Like

I’m not a mage expert so maybe someone in forum knows it better but I guess it’s so if the guy with poly trinkets he still can’t leave ring because he will get frozen for 4 sec if he touches it. If healer has bad position or you used smoke as rogue mage his trinket will not help then.
It also activates Disciplinary command legendary since it counts as frost spell

1 Like

In what instance do you see mages do this ? That seems uncommon to me except if you are threatened by a potential kick so that you want to queue ring of frost and spam cast polymorph in case you get kicked on frost so you still get the re-CC in time.

Half ring is same as half polymorph!

One argument to initiate your CC with ring if possible, is to proc the Disciplinary Command legendary if you run it, without having to waste the Frost Nova which is a very important and underrated tool. It also costs you one global to nova after polymorph if you want to proc it this way. Though ring of frost has a cooldown and in some teams you don’t want to waste it (pet classes, druid teams, etc.)