My two cents on Frost Mage PvE

Hello, my name is Camy. I currently raid as a Mage in “untitled spreadsheet” on Eredar-EU.

I started playing World of Warcraft in Legion and have achieved Cutting Edge in every Tier since Helya and I am here today to talk about my perspective on the current iteration of “Frost Mage” in PvE! I believe PvP has different issues and should be addressed separately.

First I would like to talk about the “No Icelance” build. (noIL)

With the release of patch 8.1 our trait “Winter’s reach” was replaced with a new trait called “Flash Freeze” (FF). FF turned out to be very strong for Single Target (and Cleave with Splitting Ice) by giving us a significant boost to Glacial Spike damage. The secondary effect of FF is completely useless because of the way we use Glacial Spike optimally and you want to stack this trait for raiding even if you don’t play “noIL”.

Using multiple FF traits and/or stacking mastery and not having azerite traits directly interacting with Ice Lance will change your playstyle to the point of never using Ice Lance unless moving. You ignore the later half of the Winter’s Chill debuff applied by Brain Freeze empowered Flurry casts and you ignore any Fingers of Frost procs.

I personally think this playstyle is unhealthy and unintuitive. It makes no sense and It should not be this way. I would be curious to hear what the game design team thinks about this. The gain in output this build offers is also non-trivial because it offers better dps even without optimizing for it, and leaves your Fingers of Frost procs always available to be used while moving.

Note: The loss of multiple Ice Lance empowering artifact traits from Legion already ended up leaving Ice Lance very weak.

Secondary Stats