New player - choosing a class

Hi everyone, i recently started playing WoW and Wow Classic for the first time! I was always fascinated when i was little, and i remember seeing Wrath of the Lich King everywhere in the stores back then, and i couldn’t tell my parents there was such thing as a monthly sub, so yea, i ended up playing a stupid clone (4Story) that i really enjoyed for its combat system and the community!
Anyways, i’m in Italy, quarantined, not much money but wanted to try one month of this vanilla experience, and retail aswell for the different combat system. I was always used to moving during combat, with very few abilities with a “hard cast” of 1-1,5 seconds. It’s been two days where i can’t find the class for me.
In Classic i chose a mage, and probably keep it that way, but in Retail i really don’t know what to do.
I’d like a dps class and was trying to watch some endgame gameplay to choose from. I really like the animations of the Enh Shaman, and the fact that it’s a spec that requires many abilities to use, not just spam two abilities like fire mage. But at the same time the mage can go frost and arcane, which is pretty versatile!
What i’m looking for is having a class that’s fun to level, fun to use, more than spamming one button, and that feels rewarding. I want to play every content in the game and not feel gated completely from doing things at 120. That doesn’t mean that i necessarly wouldn’t consider off meta stuff, top priority is having fun with my class and my combat system, not having the best class for a meta that will eventually change!