New Player - Want to try retail, is it worth it? (has level boost)

Hi, as the title says I’m completely new to WoW and grabbed a months sub to try out classic which im enjoying, aside from I get lost on where to go quite easily even with addons, but my question is: Is it worth me playing retail wow (no intention to buy BfA) or is classic where it’s at and retails dying out. I also have a level 100 character boost which is what made me consider trying retail out however I don’t have the time to level a char high so unless there is much fun to be had casually levelling would it be pointless or should i pop the level boost on a priest/rogue
I’m on EU and were considering going Alliance on Deathwing server as realmpop says it has a pretty even split between horde/ally
Thanks for any advice

“Completely new” and “have a 100 boost” are not consistent. The only ways to have a 100 boost are to have bought Mists, WoD, or Legion when they were current, or to be a returning player from long ago.

I’m not trying to catch you out, here, but what I am about to say relies on your statement that you are “completely new”. If you maxed in Wrath or something, that doesn’t apply.

OK, so first thing: If you really are completely new, do not, do not, DO NOT boost your first character. We’ve seen many cases here of people boosting their first, and then being lost and confused, and leaving, or starting over from level 1.

Next thing: It is not worth playing Retail unless you buy the current expansion. When a new expansion comes in, everything before it gets nerfed, and, after a couple of months, almost nobody is left playing it.

Retail is definitely not dying out at the introduction of Classic. I’m certainly enjoying Classic, and I wish it every success, but I’ll be surprised if Classic holds 10%-20% of the numbers of Retail. It is generally agreed that BfA has been a bad expansion, but Retail has an opportunity to improve next one.