Playing WoW off a USB drive?

So,

I wanna order a 128GB USB 3.2 so I can have a portable WoW installed on it, since I play on multiple PCs.

Does anyone have any experience with how WoW plays on a portable USB drive? :slight_smile:

Would love to hear from people who has tried it using any USB 3 types. :slight_smile: The one I have my eye on is the latest 3.2 type which has a 20GB/s speed compared to the 5GB/s you find on a regular 3.0 USB.

I’m not a tech expert, but I’m guessing the read speed makes a difference hehe.

1 Like

I play off a portable SSD, don’t know how it compares to a USB but I’d recommend it.

It’s not quite as small as a USB stick but it fits in the same port and is about the same size as a credit card (but thicker).

2 Likes

Interesting, I have been considering moving WoW from the HD onto a portable SSD (USB-C). Does it make a huge difference?

Do you experience any random freezes? :slight_smile: Or is it a constant smooth experience.

Yeah I read that one before making this topic. But since it only has one person addressing the usage of USB, and the topic is now closed, I figured it was worth asking about “USB specifically” in a new post. :slight_smile:

I’m playing on an external SSD aswell, works like a charm. USB-HDD should work aswell, but your loading screens will likely be a tad longer than what you’re used to.

1 Like

An SSD is probably the best bang for your buck by a country mile. It’s like walking compared to a car. It will increase your load speeds dramatically.

And to the OP, smooth as silk.

I play like this too. Smooth sailing all the way on my 2tb usb ssd

A friend was thinking of doing this as he’s incapable of installing an SSD himself, nice to know it works.

I did play WoW for many years on a portable HDD and it did always run smoothly! :slight_smile: it was a good choice when I was younger and went back and forth between my parents.

But today I run m2 ssd (yes money can buy time) .