Tanking in Shadowlands

My main is a healer, and I do quite often see tank do some big pulls that are stressful af for him :smiley: So I suppose I gotta do the same, but how do I approach this?

Take for example, De Other Side, there’s a few packs that are pretty intense, like the start, taking those 2 packs at once. My question here is, do I basically kite them around?

Also got a paladin tank, but I find this play style more interesting (love both though). But I am not a pro tank or anything, I tanked in Legion, but in BfA I avoided it basically (also due to essences)

Whether you do big pulls or smaller ones, depends a lot on your party. If your healer and DPS can handle a big pull, go for it. Otherwise, pull smaller and safer (a wipe on a big pull costs more time than doing two pulls instead of one, but living).

The reason a lot of tanks pull big, is because it’s more efficient to cleave everything down. In some cases, you can even pop bloodlust on the first pull (like in Halls of Atonement), and have it up by the first boss again. Pulling big requires a healer capable of healing it; DPS capable of interrupting, not overaggroing right away, and staying out of bad (and using defensives too, to help the healer); and a tank that can build enough threat and kite when they don’t have defensives (personal or external) up.

It also depends on the key level too: there’s absolutely no need to pull big on keys below 10 or so, unless the party (or at least the tank and/or healer) outgears the instance.

Pretty much, yes. Mind you, you do that on Sanguine weeks anyway. =)

tank do some big pulls that are stressful

I’ve walked in your shoes and it’s not that bad, I’ve done with it the brewmaster, the only thing that trips me up is in big pulls, getting off those interrupts whilst keeping an eye on aggro bars across the team.