The Current State of Resto Shamans

Hey everyone, Nymvi here.

I’ve been playing Restoration Shaman for a few years now and while I really love the spec and class, I cannot help but feel like we’re getting the short end of the straw literally -all- the time.

I’d like to chat about my personal experience and actual facts about how Resto Shamans are currently competing in PvP, Raids, M+ (basically everything important) versus other healers. I have a lot more to say but it might not be wise to make the already large wall of text even larger.

First of all, let’s talk about Mythic+.
I know my way around the dungeons, I know precisely what to do on literally every occasion, I’ve been pushing keys from the start of BfA. I’m in no way considering myself top tier in M+, but I know my stuff. Mostly, I feel alright healing them, but that’s only because most of the times deaths aren’t really my fault, but someone screwing up a mechanic. I can easily maintain a high enough HPS output to survive fights on 8.2s 14-15 keys, averaging about 40khps during the entire dungeon ( with my current ~435 ilvl gear ).
My actual problem, though, is that for us to maintain this healing, we need to hardcast, ALL the time. There is no room to DPS, as we have no worthwhile HoTs to place like, for example, a Resto Druid can. Meanwhile, we also only have single target DPS abilities and 1 Chain Lightning which can only hit up to 3 targets.
On the contrary, a Resto Druid can spend 1 global cooldown to Sunfire 4+ mobs all at once while the party is HoTted up, and they will outdps us by miles.
I know Resto Shamans CAN spec into 3x igneous potential and have “the highest healer single target dps” in the game, but I hope you now understand this is not at all plausible, especially on higher keys.