The narrative delivery of 9.2 is terrible

I’ll preface this by saying that I’ve watched cinematics ahead of time as they have been released, but haven’t played the PTR, so now that the patch is live this is my first time getting the actual in-game story delivery…and oh boy, it’s…it’s certainly something.

Week 1: Arriving in Zereth Mortis was…alright enough I guess, Firim is an interesting enough dude. But as soon as things actually got started it was all very underwhelming. The Jailer is sieging Haven, we show up and kill some mobs, Jailer just leaves. We run around and do a bunch of busywork, we fight Mal’ganis for like 10 seconds, Jaina and Baine show up and do nothing. We see Anduin for 2 seconds before he yeets off with the Jailer. Come back next week. Uhm…o-okay…

Week 2: Suddenly Uther is there, I talk to Uther and is shown the Sylvanas cinematic. No buildup, no context, just Uther showing up and going “So yeah, that happened”. Literally the next thing that happens: Bolvar saying that Sylvanas being back isn’t really a priority for him right now, and I am sent off to do more busywork with the Enlightened. I do a bunch of kill this and fetch that styled quests to activate a flightpath - then all of a sudden Sylvanas is just there, like, fully armored, armed, all blue and shiny, not in chains, not looking like she is under any kind of guard, I can’t even talk to her. A brief cutscene is triggered where Sylvanas goes “We gotta save Anduin to defeat the Jailer”, then Jaina goes “I don’t trust you” then Uther goes “Trust me”, then Jaina goes “Okay”…then the three of them together with Bolvar goes through the flightpath and yeets off. Come back next week.

What?..