Vanguard of Justice is ALWAYS a LOSS in DPS

There are guides/builds that recommend to take Vanguard of Justice.

How can anybody recommend that crap?
U get 20% damage for 33% loss because every Holy Power Ability for Damage is 3 Holy Power.
It is always a negative, ALWAYS.

You can use Highlord’s Judgment instead to really gain 20% more damage, when using it wisely in rotation.

monkey brains building guides

Im not very good with the math on this nor in general but fairly sure that “get 20% dmg for 33% loss” is wrong in every way, or is it that you meant a 13% loss?

Now i get what you mean that 1 extra HP cost should result in a 33% dmg gain as thats what logical if 1 HP represents 33% of its dmg and might have been the case if every single generator ONLY gave 1 HP but we have several that gives 2-3 HP and one that can give 5.

As for Highlords Judgment, i guess its worth is reduced by current set bonus and Divine Resonance. Even then, why wouldnt you get both (other then playstile issues with the feel of 3hp spenders VS 4 as ive seen some argue)?

Why should it be dependent on the generation?

The 33% are only for HP spenders (which are 3 HP), but so does the talent only affect HP spenders, so the 20% which it grants on top also only affect spenders - resulting in a directly comparable situation, not for overall class/spec damage but for this all HP spending.