Cost of game so far is frightning

I have been playing wow now for over 12 years, and in general have enjoyed it, I’ve had my ups and downs with the game as we all have, but I was going through my account history and how much I have spent since joining this game and with my monthly subs, character moves to other servers, mount and pet purchases, and faction changes etc etc, I have spent over £1500 on this game which is a fair old whack of money, has anyone else worked out what they have spent???

That’s £125 per year. I can spend that in a pub in a week.

18 Likes

Spread over 12 years it’s relatively little.
If you think you’ve got a product/had an experience you’ve enjoyed.
For me it has been an expenditure I’m happy with for the most part. But I super object to the cash shop so I don’t tend to spend more than the sub.

2 Likes

Considering how much I have spent on other stuff over the years, it isn’t that much.

Buy a couple of take-away meals a month and that’s about the same.

Sub price is not high, i bet blizzard is regretting putting it that low, now they added shop for mounts, services to make it up.

Yeah it’s not much to pay for the hobby. Amount you pay per month is ridiculously little compared to what other leisure time activities costs.

I do have to add though. I had extremely good financial year and because of that, i desided to use 8% less money to ActivisionBlizzard products and use it on other gaming companies products and for some beer, just to celebrate the good year and to invest on the future.

4 Likes

A month of subs is like seeing 2 movies. In terms of hrs on entertaiment/cash, wow is pretty cheap.

Still, it’s a lot a year for a game when there are lots of entertaining game that are cheaper or subscription like game pass.

2 Likes

My monthly cigarettes cost almost the same like 1 year sub :smiley: :smiley: :smiley:

2 Likes