Fire mage pve

Hello guys

I recently started playing fire mage because i wanted to top the dps metters. (used to play only healers).
As i said i choosed mage because my research guided me for mage as a top dps.
Curently, i am struggling on the dps lists. I am doing the right rotation, conduits etc… i learned the spec as best as i could for the last month now. But others specs outshines me, even lower gears locks, monks, warrs, hunts… lets not get in the aoe scenario, where things gets even worse.
I understand that i need more time to be good at it and more practice and also more gear (curently 186).
But thats not a problem, i am willing to invest more time and research in it, but i need to know thats it worth it, thats it worth the time and at the end i can be top 3 in raids. Because i dont want to play fire mage too long and discover that its not top and some monk( ies) come and gets our top spots.

As you guys know more of the mage class than i do, am i on the right path? is it worth the way? for the fire mage? or should i find another spec that its top dps.

Sorry for the long run, but this really concerned me and i had to ask you guys.

Thankyou, cheers :slight_smile:

1 Like

Playing the overpowered FOTM class/spec never ends well and I’m 100% against it but don’t let that fool you, I’ll be completely impartial.

First and most important, you don’t even have a legendary yet.

Second, you are low ilvl so it’s obvious you won’t be topping the metters even if your rotation is fine.

Third, even if you memorize the rotation from a website, knowing when to use X or Y takes practice, even more if you only played healers which for the most part have no rotations or offensive cooldowns.

About it being worth or not, you can never go wrong with Mage, even if they nerf Fire to the ground, you’ll still have at least 1 competitive spec no matter what.