Level 60 Hunter Pet Taming

Hello everyone,

I have a question about taming pets after you hit level 60. This is my first time on Classic, so please take it in consideration while writing your replies, thank you very much :).

So I have recently hit level 60. I tamed a level 60 pet, but I cannot increase it’s loyalty. I read some info on the net and I found a table, which says that pet needs 5% of XP of your next level XP to increase it’s loyalty (plus some time according to loyalty level). But it is impossible while are we both level 60s, right?

Can somebody please simplify this whole thing to me? Is it possible to increase level 60 pet’s loyalty? Or do you have to tame level 59 (or lower) to level it up? But how can it get 5% of your next level XP, while you do not have next level?

Thank you for your replies.

Rumajzlík

Did you try to farm enough?

Just kill mobs that aren’t grey to you and keep your pet well-fed, that’s all there is to gaining loyalty.

2 Likes

Yes, I killed multiple mobs with my level 60 pet, fed him with a stack of food, no change.

Well, you shouldn’t expect it to change very quickly.
I found the best way to gain loyalty or experience is to do dungeons, because you’re doing that while also hopefully getting some nice loot.

To address your main question though, just in case: it doesn’t matter if your pet is already lvl 60, the mobs that are green still count as “giving exp”. Just like the priest talent Spirit Tap doesn’t become useless at 60:
(Gives you a 100% chance to gain a 100% bonus to your Spirit after killing a target that yields experience. For the duration, your Mana will regenerate at a 50% rate while casting. Lasts 15 sec)

PS: also, food should only be used to improve your pet’s mood. If it’s already “well-fed”, pumping more food into it won’t make a difference.

Well pet w/o a single ability is quite useless in a dungeon…
About the food, I just give it to him to increase the mood.