Unholy Death Knight vs Shadow Priest for Shadowlands

Hello guys! I am looking to main one of the two for Shadowlands and i will be focusing on PvP mainly arenas, I have played unholy DK up to 2k rating and I have no experience with Shadow Priest, both look equally fun to me so I would like to hear the opinion of people who played beta or have similar/higher experience than me. Maybe a list of positives and struggles with each class would be helpful. Thank you so much in advance! :slight_smile:

Well, as far as history goes, Unholy DK will be unplayable at the start of Shadowlands, so maybe you could go for Shadow priest first and then Unholy DK after?

As far as Unholy goes, it seems like in BfA but a bit fancier. You got a few more defensive options and gargoyle back, but it feels a bit clunky to play with the gcd and burst/mobility abilities being on the global cooldown.

The correct answer is to always play what’s most fun for you, but keep in mind there’s a high chance that unholy dk will be unplayable because it’s usually like that at the start of expansions.

No hate but the confidence in this statement is funny :joy:
Reminds me of another spec too

Inferno DK?

2 Likes

Okay so what are you saying is that DK’s just scale better with gear than Spriest most of the time? (Keep in mind that i would be happy playing anything). Also did you get the chance to play a DK on beta?

I have not played neither, but I thematically like the spec fantasy of shadow priest a lot more, if that helps you make a decision at all. :slight_smile:

He’s saying that if dks are broken they’ll get smashed with nerfs and if they’re bad, they’ll rot until an item/combination to abuse is found to keep them active. [gushing/gettiku, tank trinkets,versa amps etc]