What is killing WoW?

Retail, has what, 1 million players now, compared to the top of 11-12 million in early Cataclysm. The world feels dead. Queues are long, and noone talks.

Where did it all go so wrong, and why?

Personally I think it was when Blizzard switched strategy from attracting new players by creating great gameplay to milking the ever dwindling playerbase for as much money as possible. I blame Activision for this. It’s no longer about the players, but about the shareholders.

9 Likes

Source ?

/10characters

3 Likes

1 million players?No way,and i started playing retail 10 days ago i play on outland and queue times as a tank is nothing more than 1 min,most of the times it’s instant.And the social problem yea most people just don’t wanna talk,i did met a few people who wanted to talk and that is something we discussed,i think LFR and LFG is what made people not wanting to talk and i personally am against them.

Yeah, I think 1 million might be a bit of an overstatement. Probably about 300k for retail.

8 Likes

One of the green VIP’s on the forums estimated about 2.5 - 3 million on retail utilising what data is publicly available. Will be less at the moment due to migration to classic.

What people need to realise is MMORPG’s are not the pinnacle of online gaming any more. In any sense of the word (LOL has reportedly 100m+ weekly users worldwide). They were great ‘back in the day’ as they were the in thing. Now few join the genre and the vast majority who are still here have been with the genre for years and years.

Wow will never get back to the height it was at with 13m players because it is a very successful game in a dwindling genre of gaming.

5 Likes

Maybe constant topics of wow dying is what’s killing wow

13 Likes

Why is the genre dwindling? You think it’s because of trends in gaming and the market? Nope. It’s because of sucky developers, only reason.