Why rogue have so many buttons?

I just started playing rogue and the rotation is crazy

backstab, keep slice and dice up, keep rupture up, press shadowdance , secret technique (only with shadowdance), press symbols of power every 30 seconds, press eviscerate but only if you already have rupture and SnD.

Dont get me started on having to rupture every target on aoe.

Meanwhile mage rotation
Fire blast, flamestrike, fire blast, flamestrike, fire blast, flame strike

Lol what?

9 Likes

Assassination rogue is sitting on ~15 and is only for doing damage, NOT utility/defensive. Button bloat anyone?

1 Like

only 15? I don’t think you using all your rogues abilities

Not sure if that’s sarcasm but that 15ish (can’t remember exactly) is for dps Only. Utility / defensives makes that even more

That’s not a thing though

just play sub bro, assa is the weakest rogue right now

what? I was told I have to rupture every target around me

In a perfect world, where you don’t need to think about time and resource management, sure. In practice, the amount of effort and time you would spend to have Rupture on many targets is wasteful. As a, not rule, but loose guideline, if the Target will die before Rupture finishes its whole duration, it’s usually not worth putting it on. In most cases, trying to maintain more than 3 Ruptures is going to distract you from everything else, and even then, the potential DPS increase isn’t likely to happen, when the situation develops. Maintaining 2 Ruptures, if the Targets are stacked is doable, even with the button bloat Sin currently has.

The main takeaway is, what might sim best, or look great on paper, it’s not often what can be pulled of in practical situations. Or as the great Mike Tyson said: “Everybody has a plan, until they get punched in the mouth.”

so are you saying its better to just spam shuriken and black powder?

I can already maintain 2 ruptuers easily because I have a talent that ruptueres 2 mobs at once

Probably