State of MM Hunter

Now I have been playing my main MM hunter for 7 years and have launched into 10.1 with some zeal. However I have noticed that at 431 it just isn’t performing as well as I would expect despite being fairly well optimised (still working on it but you know). But find that a mate of mine using his ret paladin can do better damage with 10 item levels less. My mates are gearing up their warlock, druid and shaman and you can tell their damage is going to catch up fast. Currently in terms of tier set have 2+2 but heard that 4 set is nothing to be especially excited about so, yeah.

And then to go with that, well, my interrupt is looooong and I don’t really bring much else to a dungeon/raid. And oh so squishy, especially with the amount of unavoidable damage in M+ (look at Naraxas pools - even premoving can still slice off half or more of your health without actually doing anything wrong) makes them just a liability.

So what gives? Are we getting some sort of help with this? Perhaps some emphasis on our utility and our survivability? Because let’s be honest, it looks like hunter absolutely sucks this season and I’m left at this point having invested a lot of time and effort looking to regear something else.

Disappointing.

1 Like

I wouldnt hold my breath, it seems the devs are satisfied with the Hunter specs being in the bottom half of the DPS meters.

I expect BM and SV will be buffed slightly though.

MM, they certainly seem clueless about ATM. The Onyx Annulet inflated the MM dps pre-10.1. Its basically similar to a 441 socketed ring, so obviously when other classes get two 441+ rings, they will gain much more than MM hunters. Add to that, the 10.1 MM tier set is the single WORST of ANY dps spec, no other DPS spec in the game has such a weak tier set, the DPS gain is very miniscule. Its amazing such a bad tier set went live tbh.